Key Stage 2

Key Stage 2 comprises the four years of schooling in maintained schools in England and Wales, normally known as Year 3, Year 4, Year 5 and Year 6, when pupils are aged between 7 and 11.

In Key Stage 2, pupils are taught compulsory national curriculum subjects. These are:

  • English
  • Maths
  • Science
  • Art and Design
  • Computing
  • Design and Technology
  • Geography
  • History
  • Modern Foreign Language (French)
  • Music
  • Physical Education (PE), including swimming
  • Personal, Social, Health and Economic Education (PSHE)
  • Religious Education (RE)
  • Relationships and sex education (RSE)

Tests and Assessments

Pupils are tested formally twice in Key Stage 2. In Year 4, the children complete a Multiplication Tables check and in Year 6, the children complete their end of key stage tests.

Year 4 Multiplication Tables check

The check will take place in June. Your child will answer 25 questions on the times tables 2 to 12. For every question, they have 6 seconds to answer and in between the questions, there is a 3-second rest. The questions generate randomly on a computer, which the children use. The teachers will share the results of the check with parents and whether additional support is needed for your child in class.

Key Stage 2

The Key Stage 2 tests cover:

  • English Reading
  • English – Spelling, Punctuation and Grammar (SPAG)
  • Maths (mental arithmetic and reasoning)

Writing assessments are based on unaided pieces of work from the academic year.

Year 6 children complete the tests in a designated week in May.  The outcomes are shared in the end of year school report alongside teacher assessments. The teacher assessments are based on your child’s work throughout the year.

More information about Key Stage 2 –