Key Stage 1

Key Stage 1 is the legal term for the two years of schooling in maintained schools in England and Wales normally known as year 1 and year 2, when pupils are aged between 5 and 7.

In Key Stage 1 pupils are taught compulsory national curriculum subjects. These are:

  • English
  • Maths
  • Science
  • Art and Design
  • Computing
  • Design and Technology
  • Geography
  • History
  • Music
  • Physical Education (PE)
  • Personal, Social, Health and Economic Education (PSHE)
  • Religious Education (RE)
  • Relationships and sex education (RSE)

Tests and Assessments

Pupils are tested formally twice in Key Stage 1. In Year 1, the children complete a Phonic screening check and in Year 2 the children complete their end of key stage tests. These are completed in a low-key manner and children enjoy working individually and in small groups alongside their class teacher.

Year 1 Phonics screening check

The check will take place in June. Your child will read 40 words aloud to the class teacher. The words are all decodable using phonic knowledge. The teachers will share the results of the check with parents and whether additional support is needed for your child in class. If your child does not reach the expected standard, they will retake the screening check in the autumn term of year 2.

Key Stage 1

The Key Stage 1 tests cover:

  • Reading
  • Maths (arithmetic and reasoning)
  • Spelling, Punctuation and Grammar (SPAG) optional

Writing assessments are based on unaided pieces of work from the academic year.

Year 2 children complete the tests during May and these form a part of their overall end of year and end of key stage assessment. The class teachers will also use the class work and assessments made throughout the academic year to support their overall teacher judgements to assess if your child is working at age related expectations (ARE). The outcomes are shared in the end of year school report.

More information about Key Stage 1 –