Dallington class is made up of our Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) children and a few year one children.   We work closely together with parents and peers to ensure all children are happy, safe and secure and plan activities, which allow consistency and continuity across all ages and abilities.


The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development.

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

Three areas are particularly important for building a foundation for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, forming relationships and thriving.

The prime areas:

  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development

The above prime areas are strengthened and applied through the four specific areas

The specific areas:

  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design

The areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. The professionals teaching and supporting your child will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs with a flexible curriculum.


All children in EYFS will complete the Reception Baseline Assessment (RBA). This is a short assessment completed by the class teachers during the first 6 weeks of school.

In the final term, the EYFS Profile is completed for each child. The Profile provides parents and carers, practitioners and teachers with a well-rounded picture of a child’s knowledge, understanding and abilities, their attainment against expected levels, and their readiness for year 1. The teachers will conclude if the child has met the expected levels of development, or if they are not yet reaching expected levels (‘emerging’).

More details about the EYFS curriculum can be found here